Red Alert

Today’s Members’ bill ballot

Posted by on June 28th, 2012

Today at midday there will be a ballot for members’ bills. There are four places available on the Order Paper after the House managed to get through quite a few first readings yesterday. Labour has 33 bills out of 65 in the ballot, so our chances are looking good.

Members Day is one of the few opportunities opposition and backbench MPs get to set the agenda and debate the issues that we really care about. I’m really pleased my Labour colleagues have embraced this opportunity and all put something up for consideration (my colleague Lianne Dalziel had her Bill drawn in the last ballot and is presently working on a replacement).

You can see the full list of bills in today’s ballot after the break. I’ll post the results just after midday.

Update: The following Bills have been drawn from the ballot. Congratulations to these MPs: 

  • Overseas Investment (Restriction on Foreign Ownership of Land) Amendment Bill (Russel Norman)
  • Habeas Corpus Amendment Bill (Chris Auchinvole)
  • Local Government (Salary Moderation) Amendment Bill (Annette King)
  • Prohibition of Gang Insignia in Government Premises Bill (Todd McClay)

1. Accident Compensation (Recent Migrants and Returning New Zealanders) Amendment Bill – Melissa Lee

2. Care of Children Law Reform Bill – Jacinda Ardern

3. Children’s Commissioner (Reporting on Legislation) Amendment Bill – Dr Rajen Prasad

4. Climate Change (New Zealand Superannuation Fund) Amendment Bill – Eugenie Sage

5. Climate Change Response (Low Carbon Economic Development) Amendment Bill – Gareth Hughes

6. Commerce (Code of Practice for Supermarket Grocery Suppliers) Amendment Bill – Steffan Browning

7. Conservation Natural Heritage Protection Bill – Jacqui Dean

8. Consumers’ Right to Know (Country of Origin of Food) Bill – Mojo Mathers

9. Continental Shelf (Oil Exploration Safety) Amendment Bill – Moana Mackey

10. Credit Contracts and Consumer Finance (Break Fees Disclosure) Amendment Bill – Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga

11. Customs and Excise (Prohibition of Imports Made by Slave Labour) Amendment Bill – Hon Maryan Street

12. Defence (Overseas Deployments) Amendment Bill – Iain Lees-Galloway

13. Education (Community Representation on Polytechnic Councils) Amendment Bill – Hon Nanaia Mahuta

14. Electoral (Entrenchment of Maori Representation) Amendment Bill – Hon Parekura Horomia

15. Electricity (SuperGold Cardholder Discount) Bill – Andrew Williams

16. Employment Relations (Protection of Young Workers) Amendment Bill – Rino Tirikatene

17. Employment Relations (Statutory Minimum Redundancy Entitlements) Amendment Bill – Sue Moroney

18. Employment Relations (Triangular Employment) Amendment Bill – Andrew Little

19. Energy Efficiency and Conservation (Warm Healthy Rentals) Amendment Bill – Holly Walker

20. Environmental Reporting Bill – Grant Robertson

21. Equal Pay Amendment Bill – Jan Logie

22. Family Proceedings (Paternity Orders and Parentage Tests) Amendment Bill – Nicky Wagner

23. Financial Assistance for Live Organ Donors Bill – Michael Woodhouse

24. Habeas Corpus Amendment Bill – Chris Auchinvole

25. Immigration (Migrant Levy) Amendment Bill – Raymond Huo

26. Income Tax (Universalisation of In-work Tax Credit) Amendment Bill – Metiria Turei

27. International Non-Aggression and the Lawful Use of Force (Implementation of Amendment to the Statute of Rome) Bill – Dr Kennedy Graham

28. Kiwi Jobs Bill – Hon Damien O’Connor

29. Land Transport (Admissibility of Evidential Breath Tests) Amendment Bill – Scott Simpson

30. Land Transport (Safer Alcohol Limits for Driving) Amendment Bill – Phil Twyford

31. Local Electoral (Enhancement of Transparency) Amendment Bill – Hon David Cunliffe

32. Local Electoral (Finance) Amendment Bill – Denise Roche

33. Local Government (Council-Controlled Organisations) Amendment Bill – Darien Fenton

34. Local Government (Public Libraries) Amendment Bill – Dr Megan Woods

35. Local Government (Salary Moderation) Amendment Bill – Hon Annette King

36. Local Government (Salary Reform) Amendment Bill – Denis O’Rourke

37. Maritime Transport Amendment Bill – Hon Phil Goff

38. Marriage (Definition of Marriage) Amendment Bill – Louisa Wall

39. Marriage (Equality) Amendment Bill – Kevin Hague

40. Members of Parliament (Code of Ethical Conduct) Bill – HV Ross Robertson

41. Minimum Wage Amendment Bill – Dr David Clark

42. Minimum Wage and Remuneration Amendment Bill – Hon David Parker

43. New Zealand Bill of Rights Amendment Bill – David Clendon

44. New Zealand Flag Bill – Charles Chauvel

45. New Zealand Public Health and Disability (Change of Electoral System for District Health Boards) Amendment Bill – Dr Jian Yang

46. Oaths and Declarations (Members of Parliament) Amendment Bill – Su’a William Sio

47. Oaths and Declarations (Upholding the Treaty of Waitangi) Amendment Bill – Te Ururoa Flavell

48. Ombudsmen (Cost Recovery) Amendment Bill – Hon Shane Jones

49. Overseas Investment (Owning our Own Rural Land) Amendment Bill – David Shearer

50. Overseas Investment (Restriction on Foreign Ownership of Land) Amendment Bill – Dr Russel Norman

51. Plain Language Bill – Chris Hipkins

52. Prohibition of Gang Insignia in Government Premises Bill – Todd McClay

53. Public Broadcasting Foundation (TV 7) Bill – Clare Curran

54. Public Finance (Sustainable Development Indicators) Amendment Bill – Julie Anne Genter

55. Reserve Bank of New Zealand (Amending Primary Function of Bank) Amendment Bill – Rt Hon Winston Peters

56. Resource Management (Requiring Authorities) Amendment Bill – Hon Ruth Dyson

57. Resource Management (Restricted Duration of Certain Discharge and Coastal Permits) Amendment Bill – Catherine Delahunty

58. Sentencing (Reparation) Amendment Bill – Kris Faafoi

59. Sentencing (Short-sharp Sentences) Amendment Bill – Le’au Asenati Lole-Taylor

60. Shop Trading Hours Act Repeal (Shopping Centre Opening Hours) Amendment Bill – Hon Trevor Mallard

61. State-Owned Enterprises and Crown Entities (Protecting New Zealand’s Strategic Assets) Amendment Bill – Hon Clayton Cosgrove

62. Summary Offences (Possession of Hand-held Lasers) Amendment Bill – Dr Cam Calder

63. Summary Proceedings (Warrant for Detention Conditions) Amendment Bill – Jonathan Young

64. SuperGold Health Check Bill – Barbara Stewart

65. Wild Animal Control (Increased Fines and Sentence of Imprisonment) Amendment Bill – Ian McKelvie

3 Responses to “Today’s Members’ bill ballot”

  1. Idiot/Savant says:

    Overseas Investment (Restriction on Foreign Ownership of Land) Amendment Bill (Russel Norman)
    Habeas Corpus Amendment Bill (Chris Auchinvole)
    Local Government (Salary Moderation) Amendment Bill (Annette King)
    Prohibition of Gang Insignia in Government Premises Bill (Todd McClay)

    Bad luck for labour, good luck for National (who will get to do another “crackdown” for the redneck vote). But there’ll be another chance soon.

  2. Fortran says:

    Great for Russel – Look forward to real debate.

  3. millsy says:

    “Prohibition of Gang Insignia in Government Premises Bill (Todd McClay)”

    A nice juicy piece of red meat for the rednecks…